Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What My Bones Know by Stephanie Foo: Foo shares such vulnerability in exploring her own C-PTSD diagnosis and mental health journey, and it’s this vulnerability paired with her dynamite reporting skills that lead her to a greater understanding of this complex and widely misunderstood illness and herself. I especially like how she notes the strength she has proven to have withstood this and the warrior status it takes to continue battling it because even as she has a grip on it, it takes consistent care and emerges in new ways as she goes through new life stages. It made me feel seen and strong too as I also am a C-PTSD warrior. I’m putting the last page of this phenomenal book on my inspiration board.

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna: Mika Moon finds her family and roots herself in a home, and my melted heart was there for it. This too demonstrates the importance of vulnerability and safe people with whom to share that. Though it reads like a romance, this is the love story of family and self acceptance. It too made me feel seen. I saw the secrecy as a metaphor for mental illness and later discovered that Mandanna battles OCD (like me).

Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin: An epic friendship love story that highlights creativity, Zevin once again creates lifelong connections and community. I gained a greater appreciation for video games, particularly the story development, and felt heartened to think some friendships endure.

Book Lovers by Emily Henry: Once again, Emily Henry nails a love story full of the witty banter I adore. This romance pays tribute to Nora Ephron with the protagonist’s name and to romance as a genre in its story elements. My heart soared so much while reading it, I smiled even after I set the book down between chapters. I might not have had a summer love, but I had Book Lovers.

Shout by Laurie Halse Anderson: I wish I didn’t feel such a close connection to this memoir in verse, but I did. Like the YA novel Speak, this explores the long term effects of sexual abuse and trauma in general. This time Anderson takes on the public’s perceptions and response too, giving readers a reason to SHOUT for healing, for change, for support, to be heard.

Share your favorite reading experiences in the comments.