Tags

, , , , , , ,

My favorite holiday happened this week, peppering its love throughout my week. A lot of my joys came about unexpectedly as my plans shifted around. I had numerous cheesy, creative and festive reasons to smile.

I read Tia Williams’s new novel A Love Story For Ricki Wilde. It lured me right into the world of love with its rich Harlem setting, great cast of characters, ode to creativity and touch of magic. I wanted to join the main character and her surrogate grandmother/landlord for tea and TV.

However, my own grandma sent me my first Valentine of the season. We also got to talk on the phone and share memories of my grandpa who passed recently. His ashes went in a box he made in high school woodworking class and gave to my grandmother for Valentine’s Day about 70 years ago.

The line between fiction and reality blurred when my book cover matched where I was and I told a man named Edward (like Cullen from Twilight and who could be cast as him) that my boyfriend was Damon (like Salvatore from Vampire Diaries). However, I probably was the only vampire in the room.

Kayla and Damon

My boss brought us cupcakes, and my colleagues and I expressed our love for each other. One friend made me a sweet note and card.

Cards also appeared at my door and in my mailbox, making me feel extra loved.

My mom let me pick out a treat for myself, so I stopped at Target on my way home from work Valentine’s Day. I picked up goods for a Barbie movie night and enjoyed an evening with great fictional galentines.

The next night I hosted a literary society book club, where we discussed our impressions of the tragic love story Wuthering Heights as we shared what we’d read lately. Afterward, I watched Ruby Sparks for the first time. It added to my theme of fiction and reality blurred and felt like me. The sweet and creative love story landed a spot in my top five favorites as tears of delight trickled down my cheek throughout the movie. I also talked to a guy named Tyler, so maybe I manifested a real version of my celebrity crush.

The week culminated with a Galentine’s evening with a couple friends. We chilled with pizza, cupcakes, paper dolls and plenty of good love songs. Our friendships made the gathering special because I could be myself with them and they share my humor.

My artsy friend knew I liked the idea of making art but needed something kid level. She found this shadow box kit and gave it to me, knowing it suited my novice skill and heart enthusiasm. I enjoyed painting them, the pretty colors and the soothing brushstrokes. My finished product gave me a sense of pride as I anticipated seeing it on my wall.

The weekend continued with love. A couple friends from my church community group brought me some Valentine treats, including a bouquet of pretty yellow flowers. One also used her calligraphy skills to make a beautiful card.

The happy yellow matched my last official Valentine season treat: The Seven Year Slip by Ashley Poston, my next romantic read.

Cheers to feeling all the love all the time, real or fictional.